Tuesday, April 4, 2017

Where Do I Find Hope?

Where Do I Go is the first book in Yadayada House of Hope series by Neta Jackson. What happens when life takes a different direction? How do you move forward? These are hard questions for our main character Gabby Fairbanks to answer. Let’s look at her journey.


Gabby has moved to Chicago with her husband Phillip. He is building a new business with his partner Harry Fenchel. The first item on the list is to get settled in this penthouse. Gabby does not care for the penthouse.  One day while looking out of one of their windows, she sees a bike path. She decides to check it out and while exploring Gabby runs into a homeless lady Lucy. Gabby cut her foot and Lucy offers to help. She wants to return the favor for Lucy but has forgotten the dinner party taking place at home. The welcome by her husband Phillip is anything but warm. So Gabby finds a solution and sends her to a homeless shelter. The next morning Gabby decides to check on Lucy. Once she finds out which homeless she went to from the concierge. He gives her the information and Gabby starts to learn about Manna House and its services. A door opens to a possible job opportunity. Will this job help or hurt her relationship with her husband? Will God lead her down a different path?

My Thoughts:

I enjoyed this story. Readers will find Gabby’s story consuming as they turn the pages. I loved how the author focused on how God’s path is never easy. Or what happens when life takes a different turn. How do you navigate alone? Loved how Philip is written so well as the antagonist of the story.

The author also focused on the classic concept of the haves and the have nots. Does having money make one happy? Or does the loss of it mean no opportunities? How do you trust in God at a time like this? When I have experienced less funds than currently needed. God has opened doors for activities that I might now have time for such as Writer’s Corner.

Please visitNeta Jackson as she continues to explore Gabby’s story in the House of Hope series.   



No comments:

Post a Comment