Sunday, July 22, 2012

If You Like Jennifer Weiner then try Shelly Bell!


Shelly Bell is visiting to Writer’s Corner on the Chick Lit Plus Blog Tour.  She is promoting her debut novel A Year to Remember.

Synopsis:

Sara is the older sibling and today her younger brother Seth is getting married.  Sara being the eldest child feels some animosity towards her sibling on his special day.  She is asked to give a speech at his reception then caught by surprise and doesn’t know what to say at first.  Sara vows to get married by her thirtieth birthday.  Let the online dating journey begin.   Sara brings along her friend Missy for support in carrying out this quest.  Will Sara find someone special?  What will she learn about herself?

My Thoughts:

If you like Jennifer Weiner then you will also like Shelly Bell.   I had a hard time putting this book down.    I am interested in checking out this J-Date website is it real?   I thought the story was great.   I loved how the author developed the characters as the story went along.   

I thought that this book was very easy to read.   I loved how the plot wasn’t just about finding your mate but also having a fulfilling life.  Another question that could be asked is what you do have to contribute?  A great relationship should seek to fulfill you.  It should also matter what you have to contribute.  Where do your interests lie?  I am a cook, writer, and reader.  I am interested in joining writing groups or joining a cooking class.    

Here is an exerpt from the A Year to Remember


He tightened his grip and pulled me closer. My head rested against his chest, just as it had all those years ago. His hand moved up and down my back and I swear he sniffed my hair. I started to get tingly all over as his hard body rubbed up against mine. I cursed myself for letting him affect me that way, when I should have known better.
Goldman encompassed all my favored physical attributes. Even though my mind understood he was a jerk, my body lusted after his. I wanted to run my fingers through his dark brown wavy hair, stare into those deep chocolate eyes, and strip off his clothes. That’s why I usually stayed at least five feet away from him at all times.
Under the circumstances, I wouldn’t be able to follow my own rules.
The longer we danced, the faster my pulse raced. I swore I felt his own heart beating quicker, too, and his breathing seemed deeper, as if he couldn’t get enough air.
His lips brush my ear. Oh my God, was he going to kiss me?
“I liked your speech, Sara. All your talk about beshert.”
I didn’t dare raise my eyes to meet his. Instead, I kept my gaze focused on his chest.
“Thanks, Goldman. That’s nice of you to say.”
“Do you really think you’ll find someone to marry you within the year?”
 

Ratings:
4/5
Please let Shelly Bell know what you thought of her book by contacting her on:
Google Plus       Goodreads


Buy the Book!
For e-book:
For paperback:
Barnes and Noble

1 comment: